Zoning Board of Adjustment

The Township of Ocean Zoning Board of Adjustment functions as part of the Department of Community Development.

The Planning Administrator serves as the Administrative Officer for the Zoning Board of Adjustment and is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the Board.

Claire Vilanova is the Secretary to Zoning Board of Adjustment and the Recording Secretary for the Board.

The Zoning Board of Adjustment members are appointed by the Mayor and Council.  These members are:

Madame Chair Shawanda Beale (term exp. 6/30/26)
Vice Chairman John Fuller (term exp. 6/30/2024)
Gino Dellomo (term exp. 6/30/24)
Victor Ashkenazi (term exp. 6/30/25)
Anthony DeGennaro (term exp. June 30, 2025)
Lisa Littman (term exp. 6/30/27)
Jason Chmura (term exp. June 30, 2027)
Anthony Pugielli, Alternate I (term exp. June 30, 2024)
Mark Leneski, Alternate II (term exp. June 30, 2024)
Chris Caramanica, Alternate III (term June 30, 2025)

The Zoning Board of Adjustment hears requests for variations from the zoning ordinances in regard to single family properties and commercial uses that are not permitted.

The Zoning Board of Adjustment meetings are generally held on the third Thursday of the month.

The adopted schedules through June 2024 are:

  • January 18, 2024
  • February 15, 2024
  • March 21, 2024
  • April 18, 2024
  • May 16, 2024
  • June 20, 2024

The Zoning Board of Adjustment meetings are held at:

Township of Ocean
Public Meeting Room, First Floor
399 Monmouth Road
Oakhurst NJ 07755

The public portion of the meetings begins at 7:30 p.m.  The floor will be open to the public for comment relative to each application, after the applicant has presented all their evidence.  While there is no set time limit, comments should be kept concise.

Agendas are posted on the website within the week prior to the meeting date.

Rules for the Zoning Board of Adjustment adopted October 23, 2006.

You may contact the Zoning Board of Adjustment through their Administrator:

Colleen Mayer
Planning Administration
732-531-5000, extension 3350