History of the Police Department


Chief Frank Eisele -1930


 Township of Ocean Police – June 1929


Township of Ocean Police - May 1992

Township of Ocean Police – May 2010

 On December 21, 1928 the Township Committee passed on final reading Ordinance #115 to “Establish a Police Department.”  On May 17, 1929 the original Ordinance #115 was amended by Ordinance #119 to provide for the “regulation, control and management of a Police Force.”

 Frank Eisele was appointed the first Police Chief of Township of Ocean in 1929.  The department continued to grow under the leadership of the Chiefs to follow: 

  •   Chief of Police Frank Eisele  1929-1956
  •   Chief of Police Richard J. Garrity  1956-1961
  •   Chief of Police Harry Harvey  1961-1972
  •   Chief of Police Neil A. Tantum  1972-1988
  •   Chief of Police Joseph R. Torchia  1988 – 1991
  •   Chief of Police William E. Koch  1991 – 2000
  •   Chief of Police Robert E. Swannack  2000 – 2005
  •   Chief of Police Antonio V. Amodio Jr.  2005 – 2012 
  •   Chief of Police Steven R. Peters  2012 -2022
  •   Chief of Police Michael Sorrentino 2022-

The Township of Ocean Police Department today has many divisions of operation and specialty units such as:  Patrol, Criminal Investigative, Traffic, Communications, Records Bureau, Technical Services, Honor Guard, Monmouth County Emergency Response Team (MOCERT), Emergency Medical Technician Unit and Police Explorer Post.  The Police department has 62 sworn members consisting of a Chief of Police, 2-Captains, 4-Lieutenants, 11-Sergeants, 6-Detectives and 36-Patrol Officers.  There are also 7-non-sworn personnel, 1-Special Officer Law Enforcement Officers II, 8-Full Time Dispatchers, 2-Part-time Dispatchers and 5-School Crossing Guards