Main content of the website

Environmental Commission

The Township of Ocean Environmental Commission is composed of residents of the Township of Ocean appointed by the Mayor.  This advisory group is charged with the responsibility to promote the conservation and development of all the natural resources of the Township.  This task is accomplished in a number of ways including advising the Township Council and public about local conservation programs, implementing such programs and compiling, indexing and researching information about open areas of the Township.

In 2018, the Township’s Environmental Commission received a grant from Sustainable Jersey & PSE&G in order to fund the creation of a Township-wide Environmental Resource Inventory (ERI). An ERI is a baseline documentation of the natural resources and environmentally significant features of an area. It is an objective listing and does not interpret facts nor make recommendations. The ERI covers a wide array of subjects pertaining to the Township’s natural environment and will serve as an important input to the soon-to-be-updated Master Plan for the Township. As such, the ERI will serve as an important tool for the Township’s Environmental Commission, Shade Tree Commission, Planning Board and Zoning Board of Adjustment. Click here to access an electronic version of the 2019 Environmental Resource Inventory.

Green Ocean Township Campaign - Energy Reduction Plans for Homeowners and Business Property Owners

2019 Environmental Resource Inventory

Urban Tree Canopy Assessment

Ocean Environmental Commission Discusses Importance of Report

To report environmental incidents, abuses, and complaints in New Jersey or impacting it call 1-877-WARNDEP (877-927-6337). You can learn more by visiting the NJ DEP website.

 The Environmental Commission is eager to welcome new membership.  We encourage you to complete our Talent Bank Application Form for consideration.

The members of the Environmental Commission are:

  • Ed DiFiglia, Chairman (term exp. 6/30/25)
  • Stephen Gaudette (term exp. 6/30/24)
  • Kenneth Lutz (term exp. 6/30/25)
  • Andrew Brannen (term exp. 6/30/26)
  • Norman Colten (term exp. 6/30/26)
  • Mary Johnson (term exp. 6/30/24)
  • Jack Mamiye, (term exp. 6/30/25)
  • Julia Surmonte, Alternate I (exp. 6/30/25)
  • Anjali Baxi, Alternate II (exp. 6/30/25)
  • Jack Kearns, Associate
  • Faith Teitlebaum, Associate
  • , Council Liaison

The Environmental Commission generally meets on the first Thursday of each month at 8:00 P.M.     

  • July 11, 2024
  • August 1, 2024
  • September 5, 2024
  • October 10, 2024
  • November 7, 2024
  • December 5, 2024
  • January 2, 2025
  • February 6, 2025
  • March 6, 2025
  • April 3, 2025
  • May 1, 2025
  • June 5, 2025

The Environmental Commission meetings are held virtually at this time.

Please join the meeting from your computer, tablet or smartphone:

You can also dial in using your phone.

United States: +1 (669) 224-3412

Access Code: 806-959-357

New to GoToMeeting? Get the app now and be ready when your first meeting starts:

You may contact the Environmental Commission through Donna Oates by e-mail or by calling (732) 531-5000, ext. 3301.