Zoning Board of Adjustment

The Township of Ocean Zoning Board functions as part of the Department of Community Development.

Marianne Wilensky, P.P., Director of Community Development and Planning Administrator, serves as the Administrative Officer for the Board of Adjustment and is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the Board.

Rachel Goncharko is the Secretary to Zoning Board of Adjustment and the Recording Secretary for the Board.

The Zoning Board of Adjustment members are appointed by the Mayor and Council. These members are:

                     Chairman Warren Goode                                

David Messer                                    Sylvia Sylvia, Alternate I 
                     Vice Chairman Henry Schepiga Leon Pflaster Eric Menell, Alternate II 
                     Jane Grabelle Richard Van Wagner James Worrell, Alternate III
                     Russell Malta  

The Board of Adjustment listens to requests for variations from the Zoning Ordinance in regard to single family properties and commercial uses that are not permitted.

The Board of Adjustment meetings are generally held on the second Thursday of the month.
The adopted schedules through June 2013 are:

     July 12, 2012
     August 23, 2012
     September 6, 2012
     October 11, 2012
November 1, 2012
December 13, 2012
January 10, 2013
February 14, 2013
March 14, 2013
April 11, 2013
May 9, 2013
June 13, 2013

The Zoning Board of Adjustment meetings are held at:


Township of Ocean
Public Meeting Room, First Floor
399 Monmouth Road
Oakhurst NJ  07755

The public portion of the meetings begins at 7:30 p.m.   

Agendas are posted on the website within the week prior to the meeting date. 

You may contact the Zoning Board of Adjustment through their Administrator:

     Marianne Wilensky, P.P.
     Director of Community Development
     732-531-5000 extension 3350